Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Site Map
Contact Us
You are here : Skip Navigation LinksHome > Residents

City of Tshwane - Igniting excellence

The City of Tshwane is the single largest metropolitan municipality in the country and the third largest city in the world in terms of land mass, after New York and Yokohama, Tokyo. Tshwane comprises an area of 6 298.4 km², seven regions, 105 wards, and has 210 councillors and about 2,5 million residents. Tshwane is divided into seven regions, namely the North West, North East, Central, Southern, Nokeng tsa Taemane, Eastern and Kungwini regions.

new tshwanemap.jpg

The City of Tshwane has always been revered for its clean, spacious suburbs, which provide access to a wealth of schools, universities, hospitals, recreational facilities and some of the best shopping in South Africa.

For culture and entertainment, the City counts amongst its assets the finest facilities in the country, from the majestic State Theatre to the hallowed grounds of Loftus Versveld – for many, the heart of rugby in South Africa. Residents of Tshwane have this and so much more – including the country’s best weather.

The City’s mandate is to deliver efficient, effective and affordable services to the people of the city of Tshwane through a developmental system of efficient, effective local government. We strive to deliver core services optimally to meet the needs of residents, as well as businesses operating within the City, and visitors to Tshwane.

The City of Tshwane’s obligations to our residents include, among others:

  • a pollution-free environment;
  • clean services like water and sanitation, education; and
  • safety and security.

These, and many more, are outlined in the Services categories, as well as in relevant legislation pertaining to the residential arena.

For the well-being of all residents, our resident’s obligations to the City include observing relevant legislations. To make life enjoyable for all who live here, City legislation covers a variety of topics, including:

  • noise pollution;
  • animal control;
  • pollution;
  • business legislation;
  • where and what type of business can be operated from where; and
  • health and much more.

Online Account Payments
Customers paying online should please fax proof of payment to 012 359 6111 or email it to For more information please call 012 358 9999.

Traffic Fine Enquiries

Traffic fine enquiries can now be done via email. Send your ID number and a contact number to
We will contact you with information on any outstanding traffic fines.

Tshwane Metro Contact Numbers

All areas 012 358 9999
Municipal information 012 358 9999


Office Hours

Office hours: 07:30 to 16:00 except where otherwise indicated. Cash handling hours: 07:30 to 15:15, except on Wednesdays when the hours will be 08:30 to 15:15 because of training and administration.

Credit Control are open until 19:00 from Mondays to Fridays. They only see clients who have received a warning or whose services have been cut off owing to an overdue account. These clients can make arrangements to pay off their arrears or make a payment at one of the cashiers.

Credit Control do not deal with new deposit payments and new connections. This can only be done during office hours at Enquiries.


 Downloadable Forms


 Where To Pay


 Related Links



 Share To  
Sign In
Contact Us | Sitemap | Terms and Conditions
Copyright © 2009-2010 City of Tshwane. All Rights Reserved.